to have it just for it to be taken away

I apologise if this seems abrupt considering that I have not posted for a while, but I felt like this is an appropriate time.

After the afternoon lecture today, I found out that another medical student had passed away in a motorcycle accident. This one has hit me hard today. He was an international medical student in the cohort below mine. I know him after the med revue and due to our random chatting when I was down in Nowra for my rehab rotation and on Facebook. To think that someone so young and mature die, it is heartbreaking. One saying that always stays in my mind is that parents are not supposed to bury their young. I’m not a parent so I don’t know full well how it feels to lose a child. What I can is to empathise with them.

The world is mourning because it has lost someone with so much maturity, positiveness and charm in such a tender age. Looking at him, he was someone who never failed to put a smile in your face. The world has lost a passionate and caring doctor-to-be and the sky is weeping tonight for the loss.

I realise that it is going to be difficult to all who have known him, especially his family and loved ones, not to mention his cohort who will be having exams in 2 weeks. I’m not usually a praying man, but my prayers are with everyone deeply affected by the incident. CLZ, this is for you. You have changed all the lives you’ve crossed paths with and I am glad to have known you. Farewell my friend and see you on the other side.

Adieu,
NN

“For what is it to die but to stand naked in the wind and to melt into the sun? And what is to cease breathing, but to free the breath from its restless tides, that it may rise and expand and seek God unencumbered? Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance.”

Kahlil Gibran – The Prophet

One thought on “to have it just for it to be taken away

  1. So sorry for your loss…
    I’m starting to rethink my motorcycle lately. This is the 3rd time this year I’ve heard of someone I know or someone in school dying.
    My condolences to the family

Leave a comment